Osun State governor, Gboyega Oyetola, on Thursday, launched the Federal Government’s Conditional Cash Transfer (CCT) scheme in the state, in which more than 15,000 beneficiaries across the state get N20, 000 each.

He said the development was part of the efforts to mitigate the economic effects of the coronavirus pandemic in the state.

Oyetola, while launching the scheme, disclosed that the Federal Government had approved the payment of cumulative four-month stipend of N20,000 to 15,562 beneficiaries across the state.

He added that the N20,000 which covers payment for the months of January, February, March and April, will be paid to each of the beneficiaries through Direct Cash Transfer, as it has been done in a few other states of the federation.

Oyetola said the federal government’s initiative would complement efforts taken by the state government to cushion the effects of the state-wide lockdown imposed to curb the spread of COVID-19 in the State, noting that the government on Wednesday commenced the distribution of over 6,000 bags of rice to the needy across the State.

He said the lockdown had impacted the finances of many income earners and had consequently expanded the population of the vulnerable group in the st202 joggers arraigned for violating lockdown order in Lagos

COVID-19: Lagos govt denies relaxing lockdown for Easter celebration
While appealing for more institutional supports for the state in the battle against the pandemic, Oyetola commended President Muhammadu Buhari for the prompt response and intervention targeted at the vulnerable group in the state.

It would be recalled that the governor, had appealed to the Federal Government, during his statewide broadcast on Sunday, 5th April 2020, to come to the aid of the state in its battle against the COVID-19 pandemic, considering that the state had effected a sit-at-home order to stop community transmission of the virus.

The disbursement of the stipend commenced on Thursday across the 31 local government areas of Osun, according to a pre-defined disbursement quota.

The summary of the quota shows that in Atakumosa East has 735 beneficiaries, Ilesa East (347), Ilesa West (386), Oriade (209), Ede South (508), Egbedore (305), Ejigbo (778), Iwo (366), Boluwaduro (362), Ila (447), Ifedayo (1062), Ifelodun (720), Odo Otin (526), Boripe (404), Ife East (289), and Ife East Area Office (208).

Others are: Ife North (921), Ife South (302), Ayedire (389), Olaoluwa (334), Isokan (783), Ayedaade (305), Irewole (498), Atakumosa West (341), Obokun (461), Orolu (670), Irepodun (713), Oshogbo (519), Ede North (523), Olorunda (727), Ife Central (424).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here