Six presidential aspirants, alongside the PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus, were teargassed by the Nigerian Police, during a peaceful protest against the partiality of the nation’s electoral body and the police.

The protesters, which included presidential aspirants Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki; Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal; former Governor of Jigawa State, Sule Lamido; and Senator Datti Baba Ahmed had left the INEC Headquarters, and were approaching the Police headquarters on a peaceful protest where they were met with police barricades and live ammunition.

Senator Dino Melaye, the Chairman of the PDPs Committee to protest the Osun State gubernatorial elections, was also physically assaulted by some police officers.[irp]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here